COVID-19 Curfew

The COVID-19 Emergency Curfew placed in effect on April 2, 2020 is rescinded by Dr. Carolyn A. Prince, Mayor of the City of Bennettsville effective May 14, 2020.

WHEREAS, South Carolina Governor McMaster has declared a state of emergency as a result of the spread of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, the most recent Governor’s Executive Order closes all non-essential businesses; and

WHEREAS, the Governor’s Executive Order requires disbursement of groups of 3 or more individuals; and

WHEREAS, city offices and facilities are closed to the public; and

WHEREAS, the Bennettsville City Council approved mandatory preventative measures to help prevent the spread of COVID-19; and

WHEREAS, City Code 30.06(B) authorizes the Mayor to impose a curfew.

NOW, THEREFORE, be it resolved that I, Dr. Carolyn A. Prince, Mayor of the City of Bennettsville, issue this Proclamation declaring a citywide curfew from 10:00 PM until 6:00 AM to be effective on April 2, 2020. This curfew prohibits any person from being present on a public street, highway, or sidewalk; public playground or park; public building or place of amusement; or any other public place during the hours of 10:00 PM until 6:00 AM. The following persons are exempt from this curfew: (1) police officers and firefighters on official duty, (2) medical personnel engaged in providing healthcare, (3) public works and utility workers on official duty, (4) persons traveling to or from their place of employment, and (5) persons seeking immediate medical attention. Violation of this curfew may result in a fine in an amount not to exceed $500. This curfew will remain in effect until June 1, 2020, unless it is rescinded in writing prior to that date.